Instead of “being” a genius…You HAVE a genius

I recommend watching the video above…or at least part of it….before you read on! Otherwise you might be a little lost! Trust me you’ll be happy you did…it’s beautiful! xo

What a concept!? This Ted Talk by Elizabeth Gilbert was the inspiration for the mini class I taught for NYTT (Neighborhood Yoga Teacher Training) graduation. I meant to share it long ago, but never got around to it. After hearing her speak on the subject it has changed the way I think about the moments when I’m at my best. It relieves so much pressure to think of one’s shimmering moments of brilliance as a divine intervention, where preparation meets your little genius and magic happens! It’s also a reminder to always write down ideas when they come up or they could just pass you by! Inspiration has a magical characteristic about it that you just can’t deny. So the next time you are preparing for a presentation of any kind just remember that all you can do in the end is show up and give it your best. If you show up and you’re less than brilliant? As Elizabeth Gilbert says, “Not your fault…your genius was just kinda lame”! So take a deep sigh of relief and know that you are as wonderful as your daimon is today.. “If your job is to dance, do your dance.If the divine, cockeyed genius assigned to your case decides to let some sort of wonderment be glimpsed for just one moment through your efforts then ole´. And if not, do your dance anyhow. Ole´to you nonetheless just for having the sheer human love and stubbornness to keep showing up”.

P.S. – Here’s a picture of the space I’ve been teaching in at ASU! I hope my genius comes to work with me more often than not.

Peace and love to you and your daimon. xo

2 Comments

Filed under Living Your Yoga

2 responses to “Instead of “being” a genius…You HAVE a genius

  1. kathie billing

    thank-you Courtney.real…so real..we all have a genius..you came across my desk at the moment of reminder..of awakening my inner genius..your’s is beautiful…you are beautiful……..

  2. feruiz86

    That woman is such a wonderful speaker. And her message is inspirational. I’ve actually never read her book (I know, I know!) but now I really want to. I hear it’s going to be made into a movie. :)

Leave a Reply

