Beginnings…

The beginning of any journey is always the most exciting and fearful time. So many unknown variables lurk in the distance and taking that first step can sometimes be overwhelming! So here I am beginning a new journey with the launch of Yoga To Go and I’m looking forward to settling down in my little corner of the web. The Musings feature of the site could possibly be my favorite space! I am launching it with visions of building a community where Internet savvy yogis can come to get inspired, informed, and infused with like-minded sentiments. But, as with all lifelong paths, I am constantly challenging myself to stay present and grounded throughout the process.

beginnings

I am currently enrolled in a Behavior Change class and realized how appropriate that is for this time in my life when we were discussing the business of changing. My professor says that the most important part of behavior change is the change itself. In other words the end result. After a few years of yoga it strikes me to hear that the most important aspect of anything is the end. Even in working tirelessly to change unwanted behaviors I wondered if there could be SOME joy in the process. Then I read this quote and it put exactly what I felt into words:
“We all work for some reason: to feed our children, to earn money to support ourselves, to justify our life, to get a little bit of power. However, there are always tedious stages in that process, and the secret lies in transforming those stages into an encounter with ourselves or with something higher”-Paul Coelho “The Witch of Portobello”
This site isn’t nearly “complete”, but here’s to letting the journey be the destination!

I am currently enrolled in a Behavior Change class and realized how appropriate that is for this time in my life when we were discussing the business of changing. My professor says that the most important part of behavior change is the change itself. In other words the end result. After a few years of yoga it strikes me to hear that the most important aspect of anything is the end. Even in working tirelessly to change unwanted behaviors I wondered if there could be SOME joy in the process. Then I read this quote and it put exactly what I felt into words:

“We all work for some reason: to feed our children, to earn money to support ourselves, to justify our life, to get a little bit of power. However, there are always tedious stages in that process, and the secret lies in transforming those stages into an encounter with ourselves or with something higher”-Paul Coelho “The Witch of Portobello”

This site isn’t nearly “complete”, but here’s to letting the journey be the destination!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beginnings, The Journey

Leave a Reply

